slow cooker shredded chicken

food, mains, recipes, whole30

My slow-cooker is right up there on my list of favourite things in the world. Next to Ryan, baby ducks and thrift stores.

I love coming home from a long day, walking in the house and food is cooked?! It is magic. I spend a bit of time on Sunday afternoons, meal planning, grocery shopping and batch-cooking for the week. Learn more about it here + here.

This is just a fancy term for cooking a bunch of stuff to use over a couple days, saving us time + money. This is my batch recipe for slow cooker shredded chicken and can last a couple of meals if you want it to. If you do not want to make it in bulk, you can half the recipe.

Here we go… are you ready for the easiest recipe ever?

Photo May 03, 18 22 59

Ingredients

  • 2 medium yellow onions, diced/ place at the bottom of the slow cooker
  • 500g boneless (frozen or fresh) chicken thighs (approx.6)
  • 300g frozen or fresh chicken breasts (approx.2-3)
  • I like a mix of chicken thigh and breast. The natural fat from the thighs is what makes it so tender and shred so easily. You can experiment with your ratio here.

Seasoning

  • ½ tbs salt
  • 1 tbs ready chopped garlic
  • ½ tbs cumin *omit if following AIP, add turmeric
  • ½ tbs ground ginger
  • ¾ cup unsweetened apple cider vinegar [ACV] recommend: Braggs or Biona

Instructions

  1. Place the onions in the base of your slow cooker.
  2. Sprinkle all sides of chicken with seasoning mix (minus the ACV)
  3. Place the chicken on top of the onions. Pour apple cider on top. Cover and cook on high [5hrs] low for [7hrs], or until the chicken is super tender.
  4. Remove the chicken into a large bowl. Take two forks and shred it up! You can place back in the slow cooker and add additional salt or apple cider to taste.

Notes

  • Stir in some Chalula or Frank’s Red Hot if you want a bit of kick
  • AM: top it with an egg + veg scramble, veg hash or in an omelet for breakfast
  • Lunch: makes a great salad topper with chopped apple, paleo-mayo and celery + easy to fill in lettuce wraps
  • PM: we love it on a loaded sweet potato with guacamole or mixed in a stir-fry.

 

Makes a big ‘ol batch and can last a couple meals. The point is… the options are endless. Give the recipe a try and let me know how you use it throughout the week!

Have a delicious week!

x

Photo May 03, 18 21 23

One thought on “slow cooker shredded chicken

  1. Hi Ady, Your recipe sounds great and I will be trying this as I love my slow cooker too! It is hard to just cook for one person and when I come in from working all day on whatever that is for the day, I sometimes just don’t feel like cooking so I tend to make food for several days and freeze my meals. One of my favorites is eggplant Parmesan. Paul’s late wife Ruthie wrote down a recipe for him to make (of course he doesn’t) and it is the first time I ever tried this and it is delicious. I make it with 4 eggplants so it makes enough for 10 -12 meals for 2 people. It is actually better after it has been frozen. I made it for Pam when I was helping her to recover from her surgery and it was the best she ever had! I love you and can’t wait to see you this summer.
    Oma

    Like

Leave a comment