meal planning

food, mains, recipes

Hello friends!

Part of our Sunday ritual is meal planning, grocery shopping (okay, I do that one…) getting the kitchen organised + batch cooking for easy meal prep during the week.

This week, we are focusing on Whole30-ish, low-carb, high protein meals and incorporating as much seasonal and nutrient dense produce that we can.

Breakfast Skillet

For a quick and protein-rich breakfast (and salad topper) I batch cooked this skillet. This is an original K+K recipe and was a breakfast-life-saver my first round of AIP. It is made up of lean ground turkey and any veg that I have on hand. I top it over sautéed stir-fry veggies or dark leafy greens. It is also perfect piled on a cauliflower rice with avocado for a heartier option. I love it with fermented veg and Ryan loves it with fried eggs.

IMG_4553

Stuffed Peppers / Buddha Bowls

When we have a busy week, I batch cook for the both of us. Dinners that are easy for us to reheat and can double as breakfast (#putaneggonit) or lunch. Ry will love these peppers from The Kitchen Confidante. I love the idea of bulking them up with meat + some healthy fiber from the lentils.

Lentil-Stuffed-Peppers-Kitchen-Confidante-6

I will be relying on some grain-free ‘Buddha Bowls’ to get me through the week. The best thing about Buddha Bowls… anything goes. This recipe from Empowered Sustenance is a winner. Get your favourite things in a bowl and pile them on the dark leafy stuff… wha-la! See my previous post here.

grainless-bowls

 

Mexican

This week we are hosting a Mexican themed dinner with our small group. I am in charge of the main dish, shredded chicken and fajita style vegetables and I’ll be using this fabulous recipe for AIP friendly seasoning from Whole New Mom.

Autoimmune-Protocol-Taco-Seasoning-by-Whole-New-Mom-fb

One Pan Roasted Salmon + Veg

We are so excited to host a friend in Edinburgh this weekend. Planning on a nice dinner at our flat with some local Scottish salmon. We have made this recipe before from The Real Foods Dieticians… such a winner. Light, healthy and a good one for hosting. [P.S. I wish we had Tessemae’s dressing here… go to Whole Foods and stock up, people. They are so delicious!]

IMG_3126

 

Burgers + Sweet Potato Buns

We like to make our dinners one to look forward to! This week we will have a burger night with all the fixin’s that we can possibly fit between these sweet potato buns from Lexi’s Clean Kitchen. Delish!

Sweet-Potato-Breakfast-Sandwiches2

Spring Salads + Sides

Snap pea + Coconut Salad I re-introduced peas with success after several months of strict AIP. This salad from Bon Appetit looks soooo springy and fresh. I will pick up whatever veg is on sale, asparagus, green beans, garden peas, courgette… (which usually means, in season). I do LOVE pairing mint + veg. I will be batch cooking this for some light dinners and lunches this week. For filling additions,  I will add some shredded chicken and avocado.

carrots_landscape

Treats 

Paleo Cookies We eat salads so we can have cookies, am I right? Last week I made date and banana cookies. I did not use a recipe. I just experimented really. Funny thing with Whole30 baking… hmm, sometimes the final product just isn’t that pretty. They were delicious but I thought they looked like sausage patties. Anyways, since I haven’t blogged the recipe yet, this one from The Detoxinista (healthiest cookies ever) seem to be close to the version I made and they were a real crowd pleaser.

healthy-cookie-recipe

 

Strawberry + Rhubarb Salad And… for something a ‘lil sweet and fruity, I have decided to finally give rhubarb a try! I think this duo I found on Bon Appetit will make a great side or dessert option this week.

strawberry-rhubarb-salad-with-mint-and-hazelnuts

 

I hope you have delicious week and that you are enjoying slightly warmer weather + brighter days, wherever you are!

 

peace + grace

x

Leave a Reply

