Month in Review

devotionals, lifestyle, travel

January – the first month of the year but the second month of winter.

Three words that come to mind; cold, windy and damp. Maybe you are thinking that it’s Scotland and I shouldn’t be surprised, however, locals say that this is one of the worst winters in recent memory. So alas, I’m not too pathetic.

Keeping the new year mentality and momentum leading into February is hard when the entire month of January can feel like a perpetual Monday.

Like most of us, I start the year feeling new– a clean slate, my to-do list in order and the momentum is in full throttle. Then, by the end of the month, the January blues are trying to set up camp and I start googling symptoms of seasonal affective disorder on my lunch breaks. The long winter days are marked by harsh winds, dark walks to and from work and an umbrella that has taken a beating.

However, I am trying my very best to hold onto the momentum and reminding myself of why January can be a great month. After the bouts of excess and hustle in December we are finally feeling settled and rooted back into the grooves of Edinburgh. I have more time at the flat, reading books (an even better experience with my new glasses! yay for being able to see!), catching-up on projects I haven’t yet done, focusing on eating healthily and my at-home yoga practice.

This year, 2016, we have so much to look forward to. Friends and family are always keeping us updated on their trip planning and we are beyond excited to finally be able to share this dear city with visitors we love.

We will start next month with a quick trip to Bruges, Belgium to celebrate Ryan’s recent publications, and we are nearly finished planning an epic road trip to the Highlands + Isle of Skye with our best friends from Colorado in March. We are daydreaming of German food in Tübingen and European travels with my grandma this summer. Summer will ask us to be tour guides as our beloved parents come round this July + September, and we’ll be sure to catch a Fringe Festival show sometime in August. Still trying to decide on where to celebrate my birthday (30th!) hopefully somewhere warm and lovely at the end of the year, but we have time and all I know is that I am grateful for what is happening now and for exciting things ahead!

Right now, I’m taking the time to hibernate, refocus, plan exciting adventures and, keep the momentum going. I’m not pretending this virtuousness will last the whole year, but I am praying that it will last for what has turned out to be a surprisingly enjoyable start. Lord, may I be reflective and intentional this year and pray for the patience and compassion to do so. Friends, I hope this finds you well, that you be compassionate toward yourself and reminded of what has made your January great, keeping those blues behind you.

Perfect submission, all is at rest,
I in my Savior am happy and blest;
watching and waiting, looking above,
filled with his goodness, lost in his love.

-Fanny Crosby, 1873

x

 

IMG_8348

I can see! I highly recommend Glasses Direct for your next pair. They send you as many frames as you want to try on at home so you can test drive the frames with all those hats, hair, outfits, make-up. Yep, awesome!

 

IMG_8334

This month we had the thrill of waking up to small dustings of snow, blue sky and a beautiful, wintery crispness outside.

IMG_8333

Arthur’s Seat, Edinburgh

IMG_8336

Scott Monument, Princes Street Gardens

IMG_8339

Artisan Roast, where the hippest of hipsters sip on some joe. This stop is definitely high on the ‘where to sip’ list in Edinburgh and if you go on a Sunday you can stroll the Stockbridge Market beforehand. IMG_3010

This year, I am reading through the Psalms + Proverbs in the One Year Bible as part of my efforts to be in scripture daily. I am really enjoying this and the thoughtful devotionals over at SheReadsTruth.

IMG_4123

I started Kilts+Kale one year ago! I am really enjoying it as a creative outlet and place to keep my thoughts and recipes. For those of you that have cheered me on along the way, I really appreciate your kind words and encouragement.

IMG_8338

Grassmarket, City Centre

IMG_8335

After a hike up Arthur’s Seat, I finally visited the oldest ‘skittle alley’ and pub in Edinburgh, The Sheep Heid Inn 

IMG_8337

Edinburgh Castle, Royal Mile

 

2 thoughts on “Month in Review

  1. We can’t wait to visit in July! Your blog makes it look so charming and interesting. I hope you’re ready to be tour guides! :)
    Miss you and love you so much. Keep writing. Dad and Mom

    Like

  2. Love love love this. Your words, your photos, your pretty self in your new glasses. ALL ON POINT. ALL FOR THE WIN. My heart is with you, love!

    Like

Leave a Reply

