Love people. Cook them tasty food.

food, lifestyle, recipes

IMG_9602

I legitimately love vegetables.  But it wasn’t always this way.

When you are young, have a wild metabolism and can eat whatever you want, you don’t have to be health-conscious. All that changed about the time that I entered college.  After a trip to South America, I suffered a parasitic infection that eventually turned into an auto immune disorder. I was diagnosed with celiac disease. Back then, there wasn’t much research out and a pack of four gluten-free muffins cost about $8.00. Nowadays, it is easier than ever to find and afford GF options wherever you go. Lots and lots of people are going gluten free. It is a lifestyle that many people have adopted regardless of a diagnosis simply because they feel better. And that’s great!

After my diagnosis and feeling sick all of the time it was time for a change and I began researching holistic, natural healing approaches, and using food as medicine! I now indulge in a gluten-free, plant-based diet and incorporate as many whole foods that I can. I have learned so much through this healing process. At first, my diet felt limited and it was frustrating and negative. But over time I have found ways to turn something negative into something positive and feel that I can spread health and wellness with others.

It is my vision that through the Kilts & Kale blog I can help to demonstrate how easy and delicious healthy food is. There is more to ‘eating healthy’ than just iceberg lettuce mix and carrot sticks. You can still eat healthy and have delectable desserts, flavorful dips, cozy baked goods, hearty grains and a rainbow of incredible fruit and veggies, nature’s nutritious gift to us.

I am not a trained chef. I am not a nutritionist. But I love to read about food, experiment with it and most of all, consume it! I find inspiration in so many places and I will be highlighting several of my favorite cookbooks and cooking blogs on K&K over time.

There are a few things that I try and keep in mind with recipes. I try to keep food simple yet creative. It is important to me that the food is easy to cook, affordable, wholesome and environmentally friendly. I hope K&K can be a way to encourage myself and others to prepare food with love and care for our bodies and our planet. Keep your eye out for recipes and ideas coming up on the blog.

Love-People.-Cook-them-tasty-food.

Small shout out to a fantastic spice shop, Penzey’s Spices. They have a crazy selection of spices and a little something extra worth sticking on your car or fridge. I think we can all agree that this is way better than any political bumper sticker I have ever seen. All together now, let’s love people and cook them tasty food!

4 thoughts on “Love people. Cook them tasty food.

  1. Thanks Ady for your blog. I just read it after talking to you. You are now with Hailey on the phone. You will have to do a cook book that would help lots of people with gluten free meals. Hailey is vegan and that is interesting watching her prepare her meals separate from my meals . I do what I believe are well balanced and tasty. Love you, Grandma Audrey

    Like

  2. I received a gift box for Chrisrmas , it had about 10 different spices in it, I would like to order a few of them, they were all natural spices , are these found in a store or only on line?

    Like

    1. Hi Charlene, thanks for writing. It depends where you live… you can definitely order online in the States or visit a store. https://www.penzeys.com

      I also understand that there is an international shipping option, but takes extra care. You have to call 1-800-741-7787 to coordinate that. I hope this helps, I really enjoy their selection and quality!

      Like

Leave a Reply

