the return of my senses

devotionals

I am not content when it is winter. I complain a lot.

But we have accomplished something tremendous- our first Scottish winter. Although, Scotland is more mild than Colorado and we got two dustings of snow, I still found lots of things to complain about. I complained about the darkness, the wind, my walk to work, my lazy attitude, a strange state of mind and body that can only be compared with that of a hibernating bear… and that is how I felt for 6 months.

Winter can be tough. We need to be reminded that winter does not stay forever and that is why God created spring. In life, there are growing seasons. Seasons of want and seasons of abundance. Seasons when we are down, and seasons when we get better. Winter life can be dreary, and seemingly endless. But new life was the plan all along.

IMG_4972

Spring is the return of our senses and new life.

  • We tidy up our gardens and get our hands dirty.
  • We absorb the rays of a regenerated sun.
  • We crave the taste of fresh and bright foods.
  • We hear the precious melodies of happy birds.
  • We curiously inspect branches for their buds and blossoms.

I am trying to be intentional. To pay more attention this spring because I waited longer for it this year. I am seeing the flowers and the trees. I lay in bed, eyes closed and listen to the birds. There is an abundance of life at every turn. This renewal and this hope is the essence of spring.

Spring is rebirth, rejuvenation, renewal and resurrection. Spring is when vitality returns to the land after the desolation of winter. When nature’s cycle of life, death and rebirth is at its most visible. But the message of spring is that we need not fear death. It is the resurrection of hope. Life bursts forth, bright and full, as it is with Jesus and the tomb. Three days He lay in death and darkness, having taken on the full punishment for our sins; but on the third day, He burst forth into new life—a life that cannot, will not end.

Lord, help us to find hope year round. To immerse ourselves in the beauty of spring and to trust in your goodness. To be reminded that in Christ we am made more fully alive and to rejoice in the beauty our salvation.

“Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! According to his great mercy, he has caused us to be born again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, to an inheritance that is imperishable, undefiled, and unfading, kept in heaven for you.” – 1 Peter 1:3-4, ESV

2 thoughts on “the return of my senses

  1. Ady dear, I ‘m so glad that you are back in your senses; I didn’t know you had lost them. We too are emerging from a long winter and now “spring has sprung, the grass has rise, I wonder where the birdies is?” I don’t know the author of those words, but I love the sentiment even though the grammer is not so good. . I know that you are looking forward to your home coming in May. Your family is too. Thank you again for the Easter message in your recent blog. Love you. Keep your Owens family in your affirmative prayers as they are going through a tough time in their lives. Know that God is looking after everyone to help them face whatever comes.

    Like

  2. I love that verse from 1 Peter. One of my faves. :-) I also really like that phrase you used in the beginning of this post: “new life was the plan all along.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

